Or why my migraines took forever to diagnose.

I have migraines.  I have officially had migraines for about 8 months.  I have had migraines unofficially at least since my second surgery.  Which was 8 years ago.

That’s some difference.  8 months and 8 years.

The reason?  Is simple.  I’d already had surgery twice to remove two brain tumors.  One of the first signs of a brain tumor are headaches.  To be clear, my tumors tend to asymptomatic.  Further, headaches have never been a symptom of my tumors.

Still, when I walked into many different doctors offices and said, “I’ve been having these headaches.  What’s up?”  The response from many different doctors, most of whom I have respected and liked, has been, “When was your last MRI?”  And it was never that long ago.

So that was pretty much the end of that conversation.

And the headaches never really ended.  And because surgery had always been so recent and because they were never ‘typical’ migraines and because my life was so unsettled and because I don’t like doctor’s offices….

I just never really fought to get anything diagnosed.  Because it was so hard.  Because I didn’t know how to fight that fight.  Until it got too bad.

Because my other diagnosis, my past got in the way.

