This is, by far, my best camp story.  The week I was there as the chaplain the kids ranged from 3rd grade to 8th grade and our theme was Romans 8:38-39.   (For I know that neither depths nor heights, nor angels nor powers, etc, can separate us from the love of God in Christ.)  So, I had decided that we would spend different days talking about parts of creation or angels or life and death and how they cannot separate us from God’s love.  So I laid out my plans for the week, select mini themes for the days, picked readings, sketched sermons out in my mind, and began to think of activities.

And then we got to the day when we were talking about angels (and all the other powers, but mostly angels).  Our readings were Gabriel coming to Mary (Luke) and Balaam and his talking Donkey (Numbers).  Now, kids, and generally people, learn best when more of their senses are engaged, so I did everything I could throughout the week to encourage at least one reading as skit because I wanted the kids to learn the stories.  I think I succeeded anyways here.

The cabin who had chapel on angel day did not put on skits, and was generally a little behind the ball, but were earnestly trying.  (I’ll admit there’s a fuller story here, but it’s not germane to the funny part.)  So we get everyone settled.  I’ve checked in with them, made sure they weren’t going to use the King James translation of the Bible, and the service begins.   It doesn’t take long to get to the first reading.  It only takes another second to realize that I should have checked the translation of the second bible.  Because this kid is standing up there reading with elocution and dignity about Balaam and his talking Ass.

And everyone in camp, myself included is laughing.   Because it’s funny.

The reader, to his credit gets through the entire reading, and even pauses to tell us to be quiet.  We proceed through the psalm, the Gospel.  And when we get to the sermon I begin with, “Today you have learned something very important:  Sometimes the Bible is funny.”

Because sometimes it is.

