I was pretty young when I first encountered this notion of personal boundaries.  I was reading some article about Jackie O (I think.  And it was so long ago, that there is almost no chance the article exists online.)  The article, as I recall, spoke of Jackie going through her personal papers to determine what would survive and possibly fall into public hands.  I remember being slightly shocked at the need for that and at what she would personally destroy to maintain her privacy.

And then as I grew up and began to increasingly work in and around the Church, I began to spend more and more aware of both how public life, any life, is and how much any person needs to choose to maintain a private life.  There are ethical issues and safety/security issues and privacy issues and reality issues.  And none of it is ever easy.

I also know that by writing this blog I’ve moved parts of my life into a more public sphere.  It was a choice I made, mostly.  It was a call I followed.  Regardless, it is my choice to continue.  Not my family’s, my friends’, or my churches’ choice.

So I will continue to write: poetry, about my health and lack thereof, about the books I’m reading, and about other things as they come up.  Sometimes my churches will come up in the periphery of all of that.  Just as my family or friends also come up in the periphery.

Aside from privacy and consent issues, I created this space for my writing, my voice.  And I find I am reluctant to give up that luxury.

