For several years during my high school career, a group I was a member of organized a family friendly event for Martin Luther King Day.  It wasn’t overly sophisticated, but we’d have some activities for kids and the chance to learn something about Martin Luther King Jr.  I remember it being fairly popular, mostly, I think, because parents were happy to have something to do with their kids on this school-less day.

I was remembering this today because I found an old schedule of mine a few weeks ago and flipped through it.  On this three day weekend was written “MLK Day” and a building.  I have only vague memories of what all we set up, but I remember the fun and challenge of coming together as young people–most of us were High School students and we had some adult support, to put together an event for kids and adults.  I remember the expectation in the set up and the joy in the clean-up.  I remember the conversations over the lunches.

I still have the first copy I ever received of this prayer, which would come to mean so much to me.

This is another day, O Lord.  I know not what it will bring forth, but make me ready, Lord, for whatever it may be.  If I am to stand up, help me to stand bravely.  If I am to sit still, help me to sit quietly.  If I am to lie low, help me to do it patiently.  And if I am to do nothing, let me do it gallantly.  Make these words more than words, and give me the Spirit of Jesus.   Amen.
Book of Common Prayer, pg 461

None of this was earth-shattering, at least to my knowledge.  But all of it mattered.  It mattered because it was important to us.  Because we said that we would do it together.  And because that is what we did.

I am a white person who lived at the time in a mostly white community in a far from mostly white state.  The people with whom I worked on this project were also mostly white.  But for this and for the other things we did as a group, we said that our differences, differences of schools and economics and gender and religion and hobbies and politics, were less important than working together to make these things happen.

And that is worth remembering, especially on this day.

