“Children shouldn’t become experts in things like that.”

I love Patrick Stewart.  I do.  One of my favorite memories is seeing him playing MacBeth on Broadway.  (Feel free to be jealous.  He was fabulous.)  Here he is talking about domestic violence and his family.

And I know what he says here is truth.  I’ve worked with other kids who grew up and are growing up in homes like his was.  I’ve heard their stories and felt as powerless as they are.

And I know two things.  Patrick is right, “children shouldn’t become experts in things like that.”  And there are things we can do.  The first thing is knowing that domestic violence happens and learning to see when it is happening and then to find the courage to do something.  For more information visit The National Domestic Violence Hotline.

