Yesterday was a headache day in my life.  I’ve actually been having mild (no drugs needed) headaches a lot frequently.  And yesterday I decided to try eliminating caffiene to see if that helps.  I’m not a huge caffiene person, but at Camp, it is a warm, readily available drink in the mornings.  So I often have a cup–heavily doctored with cream and sugar.  Well, the headaches weren’t because I’ve been having more caffiene than usual.

It wasn’t bad–at least not on my scale of what a bad headache is.  Drugs could and did take the worst of the edge away.  But there was still headache.  And, because I could and the work needed doing, I took a nap and then went back to work.  Then I bowed out of evening programming and went to bed early.

The point of all of this?  It’s not to relate details of my headache.  The point is yesterday while I was working I could feel the difference–not just in the amount of pain, but in the clarity of my thought processes.  Yesterday I had to really think through steps that I’m handling with ease today.  Yesterday things were annoying that I don’t even find distracting today.

Persistant, significant pain clouds my thinking.     I can’t imagine that I’m alone in that.  It’s one of the many things that I struggle to communicate to the people around me while it’s happening.  It’s one of the things that I don’t know is understood by people who have never experienced it.

A headache, even a headache that would only earn a low medium rating, disrupts my life.  It affects where I want to be (cool, dark places where I can be still).  It affects how I think.

