In rememberance:

I wasn’t here yet

When millions died

to defeat an evil

we still find hard to believe;

I wasn’t here yet

when my grandfather traveled

North Africa in a tank

gathering stories he never told;

I wasn’t here yet

when my grandmother used

sugar hidden in the attic

only for soldier’s cookies

and learned rationing coupons;

I wasn’t here yet

when America was first shocked

by the pictures of living stick and bones

in a Life magazine;

I wasn’t here yet

for the trials the world staged

as a way to say that this was wrong,

the trials that came too late;

and I wasn’t here yet

for the worst of the shifting stalemate that followed

(for me a Commie merely

adheres to an obscure economic theory);

For all this and more,

I wasn’t here yet.

Because of all this and more,

I am here and able to say,

 

“Thank you”

Written 5-24-09

