There was a time when I considered email weird and annoying and had very little to do with it. There was a time when I considered cell phones an unfortunate aspect of technologies progression and knew I’d never want a phone that could “follow me around.” I can still remember where I was when I said that I would never have a blog. And texting is still mysterious to me. 

When people ask me about these things I’m always tempted to (and sometimes do) tell them that I have degrees in theology and history, neither of which tends to be the most forward thinking of disciplines.  Which is to say, I’m not an expert on how any of this works, why we have it, or what may come next.  In fact as a devoted science fiction fan, I’m fond of quoting HAL from 2001 as he is taking over the station, “I’m sorry Dave, but I can’t do that [open the door for Dave as Dave’s humanity makes his decisions suspect].”

That all being true, I almost compulsively check email, have a cell phone I keep close tabs on, I blog.  As suspicious as I may have been or be of these new technologies for communication, they are useful, facilitate important roles and relationships in my life and I would not want to do without them.  I have increasingly little doubt that texting will be next.  

I have friends with actual luddite tendencies.  I am not one of them.  I am suspicious of such “improvements” to my life.  But I also look forward to the day when Star Trek’s transporters are not only possible but common.  I truly believe that eventually humans  will stand on Mars and visit the other planets and moons of our solar system and, eventually, other solar systems.  I regret knowing that I cannot live long enough to see it all.  

Still, I will figure texting out not because it is a great leap forward.  I have serious and lasting concerns about the impact of texting and IM as major forms of communication.  I will figure texting out, just as I have learned email and cell phones and blogging, because these are the methods of the world around me for communication, which is most surely a necessity for relationship.  

And the Gospel is all about relationship.

