holylentAnother post from my Lenten discipline.  

Several weeks ago the Gospel reading for the daily office was from the wedding feast at Cana.  Where Mary wants Jesus to work a miracle and he replies, “It is not my time yet.”   I think it’s a great hint at the humanity that was integral to Jesus’ family life.  Sometimes his mother asked him to do things he didn’t want to do.  Of course, turning water into wine is nothing like cleaning your room.

It is not my time
I get to spend a little longer in the shadows
Waiting
Wondering,
What I will say,
What I will do,
Wondering how
People will react
If they will come
Dreaming of glorious triumph
And painful defeat
I get to spend a little longer in the shadows
It is not my time
Yet

written 3-2-09

Of course the best part is that Jesus did it anyways.

