Anglican rosaries are an important part of my own prayer life.  The physicality of moving the beads between my fingers helps me focus when my thoughts are too chaotic, the concreteness of each bead helps me find thoughts when I am too distracted.

Sites like  these have more information, but the concept is simple.  You start at the Cross, move up to the invitatory bead and then to the circle of beads.  The beads around the circle are divided into four groups, called weeks, and the four larger cruciform beads.  Some people make more than one loop, but everyone ends by moving back down to the invitatory bead and then the cross.

Unlike other forms of prayer beads, Anglican rosaries have no presciped prayers.  People are invited to pray from their own prayers or using some of the many prayers others have written. 

All of this is to say that I’ve started experimenting with writing out prayers for use with anglican rosaries, starting with my own.  The concept working with pattern of praying for the same things in the same sequence in repetition began to tempt me.  So here’s my first try.  I used the six categories the Book of Common Prayer lays out for communal prayer: the universal Church, the nation and those in authority, the welfare of the world, the concerns of the local community, those suffering and in trouble, the departed.  I then added prayers for self for the seventh bead in a week.  My goal was to make each day of the week work within it’s week and with all of its other days from the three other weeks.

[Cross] God who delights not in being remote, but in relationship with us, help me to delight in the rest of your creation and to seek your will in my life and the world around me.

[Invitatory] God you told us that persistence is a virtue in prayer, and so I pray.

[Cruciform] Holy God, Holy and Mighty, Holy Immortal One, Have Mercy Upon Me.

[week one]each line is one bead
For the Church, in all of it’s many forms, that it may be lively and loving
For wisdom in those in whom authority rests
For a world that weeps too often
For the people in the communities that surround me
For anyone in pain, sorrow, or struggle
For those I miss
For me as I am surrounded by a bewildering and complex world

[cruciform]Holy God, Holy and Mighty, Holy Immortal One, Have Mercy Upon Me.

[week two]
For the Church divided, may understanding and empathy grow
That those who govern at the will of the people may act in the people’s best interest
That we all may see and respond to the reasons people suffer
That we may see and hear those who suffer next to us
For everyone who lives with chronic health conditions
For all who grieve for loved ones
For the strength to seek understanding in pursuit of wisdom

[cruciform]Holy God, Holy and Mighty, Holy Immortal One, Have Mercy Upon Me.

[week three]
For the deepening of theology and the strengthening of mission
That those who hold power not freely given may act in the people’s best interest
For the just distribution of resources
For increased awareness of how we are all connected
For the perseverance to address the problems of our friends
For the strength to remember and the grace to keep living
For the faith to keep wrestling with hard questions

[cruciform]Holy God, Holy and Mighty, Holy Immortal One, Have Mercy Upon Me.

[week four]
For the members of the Church we do not see, whose faith is known to you alone
That all may have the courage and intelligence to question power
That we may continue to work towards a vision of a better world
For accountability in how we treat one another
For the willingness to ask for help when we are suffering
For all the members of the Church we no longer see
For confidence in your love

[cruciform]Holy God, Holy and Mighty, Holy Immortal One, Have Mercy Upon Me.

[invitatory] God, I pray for the people and things I care about. I know that you know and love them better than I do, please act out of your knowledge and help me to trust in your love.

[cross]God who delights not in being remote, but in relationship with us, help me to delight in the rest of your creation and to seek your will in my life and the world around me. 

I’ve been praying these prayers for a few days now and, while I’m happy with them, I’m not sure I’ve reached what I hoped to do.  I’m likely to keep playing with this idea, so let me know what you think.

