I get to live a life I love.  I live this life because a lot of other people have made it possible.  Several neurosurgeons, many other doctors, my family, my friends, and so many people I’ve never met.  People who crossed oceans and prairies and deserts; people who argued to change the world; people who lived and died.  People a lot like me.

Into every next room
I carry with me
my own hopes
of doing what I love
of relationships built
of change to celebrate
and fears
of failure
of isolation
of stagnation

Into every next room
I carry with me
he legacy of those
to whom such rooms were barred
those who lived and breathed and fought
so I too could enter

Into every next room
I carry with me
the early bricks of the pathway
I too think others like me
young, naïve, hopeful
should know they can traverse
But mostly
Into every next room
I carry with me
a fragile promise
with gossamer wings
whose beauty still astounds me
and whose power drives me
across every next threshold      
 
written April 2008 

 

 

