I’ve noticed something, there is no good way to deliver bad news. There’s no way to gently lead into it. There’s no way to share bad news, the really bad life shattering kind, without hurting everyone. Each person leaves these conversations in pain. Pain because their life has been shattered. Pain because the life of someone close to them has been shattered. Nothing lessens the blow. The world always seems a little skewed at the end of these conversations. A little starker. The grays become more pronounced; the shadows more menacing.
I hate this. I hate what it does to me, to the people around me. I hate how much it hurts.
And I know that this too is life. The good and the joyful inextricably mixed with the sad and the tragic. It happens all around us. It happens to us.
Lord have mercy.
Christ have mercy.
Lord have mercy.
